Shimmer

Shimmer beyond the hills, you have caught the gaze of my eyes. In the darkness I see the glimmer of light pulsating just beyond my grasp but not beyond my sight. Sometimes I loose sight of the shimmer.. it seems to elude my vision. Time passes and things change. Then suddenly I see the light once more.. pulsating and beating in the heart of those hills. For some reason the light always seems to be the same distance away but still I move forward. So often when my eyes have failed to see the glimmer my heart begins to fade into the darkness. Pain has so often had the throne of my soul. Disappointment has taken its cheap shots at the core of my being. Hope seemed to grow wings and take flight while I sank deep into shadows of death. But this day I say to you my soul, make room for the King. Make way and prepare a feast, for the Great Shepard has the rightful heir to this throne. He will sit with me at the table and we shall feast upon the joy set before Him. We will talk about the times of pain but conclude with the overcoming and victorious battles. I will look upon those burning eyes and hope will rise within me. My eyes will burn like His. Then I will rise from The Table and head once more towards the light..the shimmer of destiny awaits me.

light_in_the_darkness_by_l8

Leave a comment